• Glass Beads

1099  updated 3 months ago 1 Member · 1 Post

June 17, 2021 at 12:49 pm

To anyone who reads my fictional writings please don’t be surprised if you see curse words and explicit displays of violence. I am merely getting into character and do not want to offend. I will ,of
    course, asterisk the curse words. But the content may center around violence to establish the feeling of terror for the protagonist. This is totally a fictional story and in no way is this to be considered real. I am not a professional writer. I am merely practicing to improve my writing skills. To display any emotion, there are extreme emotions. This story has been floating around in my head for a long, long time. I do not wish to publish, just play with it.

Glass Beads

She sat at her desk writing in her journal as the warm gentle wind tugged on the strained window sheers that were gifted to her by her mother, when she first got married to Warner ten years ago. These older sheers were all her mother could afford to share with her daughter Victoria because even her mother’s secret cookie jar was not safe from her father who frequented the local bar. Although the seams are beginning to unravel, she could not bear to part with them because they reminded Victoria of her mother’s struggles and the sincere apologies with wet eyes for not having a better gift for her daughter on her wedding day. Dad was heard bellowing from the other room that day, “**mn! Helen, get off your **s and work if you are ashamed of what I give you.”

Screams of delight streamed in through the bedroom window to the small desk, where Victoria was writing in her journal. Beth’s screams suddenly brought Victoria back to the moment.

Beth called out, “Mommy, Mommy come quick! Mommy come see what Ka has founded – quickly Mommy before Ka loses it!”